Wk 5 – Artist Conversation – Molly Ramage

Exhibition Information

Artist: Molly Ramage

Exhibition: Sleep Sweat

Media: Paper mache, paint, ink

Gallery: CSULB School of Art, Marilyn Werby Gallery

Website: N/A

Instagram: @jetbootsjetpack

About the Artist

Molly Ramape is currently in her third year as a undergraduate student trying to get her Bachelors in the Fine Arts department. She had taken a few years off school prior but continued working on her art pieces. Ramage has a very interesting mind because she can actually remember her dreams with quite detail. A lot of her pieces of art are symbols for what she had experienced in her life. She uses a lot of paper mache, different assortment of colors and lines in her work.

Formal Analysis

Like I mentioned early, Molly has the incredible ability to remember her dreams very well and her pieces reflect on what she may feel when asleep. The material she likes to use is paper mache, but more than that it seems like she just drew the other ones exceptionally. Most of it was rather dull in terms of color, black and white but there were some pieces that included color as well. Instead of drawing some figures out and coloring them in, she outlined them and filled them in with lines as oppose to solid colors. That really caught my eye because it was so cool to see something shaded in like that because I have never seen anything like that in person. Aside from this one as you will see below some of her art does include color. The thing that remains the same even when the color changes is the theme, a darker theme. I do not know why but all of these things are slightly outside of what I am used to so they remind of Halloween movies and perhaps even nightmares.

img_8454

Content Analysis

It seems like she is using a lot of emotion into her pieces. I say that because sometimes it is just pure black and white and other times it has a lot of warm colors. Since it is based off of her personal experience, maybe she is facing something she might not be used to which is why she is feeling a bit swamped; at least that’s what I think. Although her paper mache goes with her emotions while on the other hand for her drawings she connects with the figures and characters. Her exhibit to me shows that what we may show our peers on the outside completely differs from the battles going on inside us.

Synthesis/My Experience

I really loved all the exhibits this week, the only bad thing was they were all in one week and I can only choose one so hopefully next week there is even better! Molly’s exhibit stood out the most compared to others because her pieces made me feel emotions that I would not have expected. What I mean is when I was walking to class I was ready to just look over art, take pictures, and discuss with a couple friends but what came as a surprise was: it made me feel and reminisce on my emotions from like childhood and just a few years ago. Even though, I may not have felt the same way Molly did when she was creating these pieces, it felt like she did a great job captivating her audience with such unique pieces. I was really standing there staring at each piece for minutes, which is more than I can say for a lot of art. For some reason they reminded me of a show my little brother used to watch called Adventure Time with a demented twist. Like I mentioned earlier it reminded me of Halloween time and the Nightmare before Christmas. All in all it’s all good because  I love Halloween so I thought it was super cool and I wish there is more like this to come.

Leave a Reply

