Wk 10 – Artist Conversation – Brittany Waters

Artist: Brittany Waters

Exhibition: #MoreThanASandbox

Media: Ceramics, Sand, Photography

Gallery: CSULB School of Art, Dutzi Gallery

Website: N/A

Instagram: @artbywaters

About the Artist 

Brittany Waters is a fourth year Undergraduate Senior at California State Long Beach who is studying in the Sculpture and Ceramics program. She is graduating at the end of this semester (lucky for her) with a Bachelor degree of Fine Arts in Ceramic Art. Brittany was born and raised in Sacramento, specifically Citrus Heights, California. She first got her Associates degree in Art Studio in Sierra Community College and then transferred over to CSULB in 2014. Her first love for art came when she was in middle school and she fell in love with the art class she took which was ceramics.

Formal Analysis/Content Analysis

Her exhibit had so many hand made ceramic turtles, according to her over 100. Each turtle took about three hours to make which is unreal, but not very surprising because they all had such incredible detailing and fine lines. The goal of her exhibit was to put notice on the issues of the environment. The exhibit really brought me back to Cancun for some reason, I think the beach chair really topped the exhibit off. Beaches nowadays seem to be filled with trash and on top of that you have drunk college students plaguing the beach with beer cans and using the wildlife as drinking props.

Content Analysis

This exhibit is about bringing awareness to sea turtles and just the wildlife in general. I have never seen a turtle nest’s on our beach and did not know that was a thing so it is clear that turtles need to be preserved. Water’s wildlife should not just exist and be protected only if they entertain us. When making each individual turtle, you could tell she really cares because she detailed every quality of a turtle so that she can make them look as realistic as possible.

Synthesis/My Experience

I loved this exhibit so much! I did not know what I was getting into when I first walked in but I can say this is probably my favorite exhibit I’ve seen at school so far. The reason I loved it is because like in the past from what I learned about art history this is more than art. It is a message and a positive one at that. Wildlife needs to be protected as a whole. Each turtle had so much time and detail put into it, you could clearly see that. With over a 100 turtles at 3 hours a piece that is real dedication to her craft. I think Brittany did an amazing job. Her attention to detail really brought this whole exhibit together and I was a huge fan, I look forward to seeing more exhibits likes this.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Leave a Reply

