WK 15 – Sketching in the CSULB Japanese Garden

I was not feeling to well during class time so unfortunately I was not able to experience this fully with the class. Although, I did make some time this week when I felt better and made my way down there and I am really glad I did. I have lived in Long Beach my whole life and never been here before. It was amazing to see all the different structures and the little animals that were around too. The buildings were amazing and I love the architecture behind them. While I was there I appreciated the different style of the buildings and thought it was beautiful; I had really missed out on the gardens for quite some time. This garden had brought me back to the third grade during the summer when I went to this summer camp at my elementary school. I’m not sure if it was the buildings or what, but it made me remember this field trip we went on; I remember it being a lot of fun hanging out the older kids. Also we watched a movie and went to the Mayor’s office that same day so it was long and exhausting but well worth it just like the garden. My hand drawing started really well but then my wrist looked like it was broken into 4 different parts and put back together. While my other drawings may look horrendous, what I saw with my eyes can not be put in words let alone redrawn on paper.

Leave a Reply

